EAHN Building Word Image Group: Actors at the Margins

Online Seminar Series, October – December 2021

A series of dialogues, initiated by the EAHN Group Building Word Image, shedding light on groups or individuals acting at and from the margins of the realm of architecture.

Through these seminars, through multivocal and collaborative writing, through provocations and questions, we want to stimulate debates on architectural production and reception from the margins, from disegno to Ikea, from grassroots movements to developers, through women writers, scientists and architects, across soil, craft, and photography

Programme: 

27 Oct, 5pm CET (4pm GMT) Fringe Discourses: Catalina Mejia Moreno, CSM London & Anne Hultzsch, ETH Zurich; Victoria Addona, McGill, Toronto. Moderated by Hugh Campbell, UCD, Dublin

10 Nov, 6pm CET (5pm GMT) Conditioned Ground: Philipp Sattler, TU Graz/RCA; Hugh Campbell & Dervla MacManus, UCD. Moderated by Olga Touloumi, Bard College, USA

17 Nov, 6:30pm CET (5:30pm GMT) Contiguous Practices: Viviane Stappmans, Vitra Design Museum & Grit Weber, MAK Frankfurt; Elizabeth Darling, Oxford Brookes University. Moderated by Rebecca Carrai, KU Leuven

1 Dec, 6pm CET (5pm GMT) Architecture as Capital: Rebecca Carrai, KU Leuven; Elizabeth Keslacy & Jeff Kruth, Miami University, US. Moderated by Catalina Mejia Moreno, CSM

15 Dec, 5pm CET (4pm GMT) Adroit Tactics: Olga Touloumi, Bard; Christian Parreno, Universidad San Francisco de Quito. Moderated by Anne Hultzsch, ETH Zurich

Details of individual talks in advance of each session. The events are open to all and will take place on UCD Architecture’s zoom platform Current – a stream of thought.

Link for all events: https://ucd-ie.zoom.us/j/85946920172 (Meeting ID: 859 4692 0172, Passcode: 597113)

Share this post

News from the field

Drawing the Urban

16th –17th November, 2023 ISUP (Istituto Studi Urbani e del Paesaggio) USI, Accademia di architettura, Mendrisio, Switzerland In the last decades, the notion of the city as a definable entity has been increasingly contested and reframed in relation to fluid and...

Denise Scott Brown: A Symposium

Dates: 08 Feb, 2023, 1:30pm Location: New Haven, Connecticut, United States Address: Yale School of Architecture, 180 York Street In 1972, Denise Scott Brown and Robert Venturi, together with Steve Izenour (MED ‘69), published their treatise Learning from Las Vegas...

Digital Practices of Ordering

Call for Application for a Fellowship on “Digital Practices of Ordering” in the LOEWE Research Cluster “Architectures of Order” Architectures of Order is an interdisciplinary research project (2020-2023) of the Goethe University Frankfurt am Main and Technical...