The EAHN Organisation

The EAHN is administered by an executive committee and governed by the EAHN council. The executive committee consists of five elected officers. The council convenes once a year at the Annual EAHN Business Meeting, where any member has the right to attend and to vote. The business meeting venue rotates, and has convened in Paris (founding meeting), Berlin, Delft, Ankara, Bologna, London, Delft/Rotterdam, Bratislava, Haifa, Pamplona, Dortmund, Warsaw, Zaragoza and Aversa/Caserta.

Minutes of these meetings can be found here. The EAHN bylaws can be found here.

EAHN conference in 2019

EAHN Office

The EAHN currently maintains an office at Universidad Politécnica de Madrid:

Departamento de Composición Arquitectónica
Escuela Técnica Superior de Arquitectura-UPM
Av. Juan de Herrera, 4
28040 Madrid

Contact EAHN

Current Officers


Mari Lending, Norway

Mari Lending is a professor of architectural theory and history at the Oslo School of Architecture and Design, and a founding member of OCCAS (the Oslo Centre for Critical Architectural Studies). She works on 19th and 20th century architectural culture, and presently on a research project on architecture and provenance.


Panayotis Tournikiotis, Greece

Panayotis Tournikiotis is the professor of architectural theory at the National Technical University of Athens, and the dean of the School of Architecture. He has studied architecture, town planning, geography and philosophy in Athens and Paris. His research focus on critical history and theory, and the way understanding the past may contribute to the interdisciplinary setting of design strategies in architecture and town planning. His recent work explores the reinvention of the city centre in metropolitan Athens.


Denis Bocquet, France

Denis Bocquet is Professor of Urban and Architectural History and Theory at the Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture in Strasbourg. He graduated from Ecole normale supérieure (Fontenay-Saint-Cloud) and Sorbonne University in Paris and obtained his PhD from Aix-Marseille university in 2002. He currently serves as the co-director of the Master Programme in Urban Planning ASPU in Strasbourg and is also the deputy-director of the AMUP research unit. He is the founder and editor of H-Mediterranean (H-Net, Michigan State Univ.) as well as the co-editor of the journals Espaces et Sociétés and Plateia. He published extensively on the question of the history of urban planning in Europe.


Marta Garcia Carbonero, Spain

Marta García Carbonero received her MA and PhD in Architecture from the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid and an MA in Garden and Landscape History from SOAS-University of London. A visiting scholar in Sweden, the Netherlands, Italy, Slovenia and the United Kingdom, she is Associate Professor in Architectural and Landscape History at the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid. Her main research interests concern contemporary architecture and landscape, in particular 20th-century cemeteries, the subject of her award-winning PhD.


Matteo Burioni, Germany

Matteo Burioni manages the project “Corpus of Baroque Ceiling Painting in Germany” at LMU Munich. He leads the DFG/ANR-Project “A Connected-History of Ceiling Painting in France and Germany 1600-1800” (2022-2025). He holds a PhD from Goethe-University in Frankfurt am Main and is University Lecturer at LMU Munich. His research focuses on Giorgio Vasari, the profession of the architect, travel writing and early modern architecture.



Carson Chan


Sofia Dyak


Claudia Hopkins


Andres Kurg


Markus Lähteenmäki


Daniel Maudlin


Itohan Osayimwese


Michela Rosso


Kostas Tsiambaos


Mercedes Volait


EAHN Junior Fellows

Ignacio Ruiz del Portal Pauner


Ignacio Ruiz del Portal Pauner is currently enrolled in the Master in Architecture programme at the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid. He graduated from the UPM in 2021 with a Bachelor’s Degree in Architecture and held scholarships in ENSA Paris-Malaquais and CEPT University in Ahmedabad, India. Projects assistant student at the UPM in 2018 and Project collaborator in the Europan Competition in Paris in 2019.

Francis Baranyk


Isabella Baranyk is a masters candidate in Critical Urbanisms at the University of Basel. Her current research studies white supremacy in the food system of Indianapolis in the United States. She previously worked as a Writing Fellow at New York University Shanghai

Honorary Members

The Network awards Honorary Memberships, which acknowledge contribution to the EAHN.

Nancy Stieber (2014)
Susan Klaiber (2014)

Past Officers

Jorge Correia (Portugal)

President 2020-2022, Vice-President 2018-2020 

Anne Hultzsch (Switzerland)

Communication Officer 2018-2022

Cânâ Bilsel (Turkey)

Secretary 2017-21

José Ángel Medina Murua (Spain)

Treasurer 2017-21

Mark Crinson (UK)

President 2018-20; Vice President 2016-18

Hilde Heynen (Belgium)

President 2016-18; Vice President 2014-16


Alona Nitzan-Shiftan (Israel)

President 2014-16

Adrian Forty (UK)

President 2010-14

Mari Hvattum (Norway)

Vice President 2010-14

Ruth Hanish (Germany)

Treasurer 2012-17

Merlijn Hurx (The Netherlands)

Secretary 2012-17

Tom Avermaete (The Netherlands)

Treasurer 2010-12

Maarten Delbeke (Belgium/The Netherlands)

Secretary 2010-12

Christine Mengin (France)

President 2006-09

Rob Dettingmeijer (The Netherlands)

Vice-President 2006-09

Carmen Popescu (France)

Treasurer 2006-09

Alice Thomine (France)

Secretary 2006-07

Past Councillors

Sahar Al-Qaisi


Jakub Adamski


Ricardo Agarez




Matteo Burioni


Anat Falbel


Torsten Lange


Mari Lending




Henrieta Moravčíková


Finola O’Kane Crimmins




Previous Offices hosted by

Edinburgh School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (ESALA),
University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom

METU Department of Architecture,
Middle East Technical University (Orta Dogu Teknik Üniversitesi), Turkey

ETS Arquitectura,
Universidad de Navarra, Spain

Leeds School of Architecture,
Leeds Beckett University, United Kingdom

gta, Institute for the History and Theory of Architecture,
ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Department of Architecture,
TU Delft, The Netherlands

Institutions which have supported the EAHN

Irish Architectural Archive, Dublin

University IUAV of Venice, Department of Architecture, Construction and Conservation

Politecnico di Torino

University of Belgrade, Faculty of Architecture

Universiteit Gent

Université Libre de Bruxelles, Faculté d’architecture


Ramla Benaissa Architects, Philadelphia USA

IE School of Architecture & Design, Madrid

Escola de Arquitectura, Universidade do Minho

KU Leuven

University College Dublin

Universitè Paris 1 Panthèon-Sorbonne

Department of Architecture and Urban Planning, Universiteit de Gent

The Oslo School of Architecture and Design

John Rylands University Library, University of Manchester

The Bartlett School of Architecture, University College London

University of Liverpool, School of Architecture