What is the EAHN?

Established in 2005, the European Architectural History Network supports research and education by providing a public forum for the exchange and dissemination of knowledge of the histories of architecture. Based in Europe, it is open to architectural historians and scholars in allied fields from all countries.

Between 2006-2013, the EAHN Office was generously hosted by the Technical University in Delft, during which time the Network grew considerably.  In January 2014, ETH Zurich welcomed the EAHN Office to its current home.  We have members from more than 30 countries, and working in many different fields and disciplines.  The Network is proud to represent a broad and multidisciplinary constituency with a diverse approach to the built environment.

Unlike most other organizations in this field, the EAHN has no national affiliation.  Its exclusive aim is the promotion of international exchange and collaboration. The rapid growth and success of the Network is a clear indication of the demand for – and interest in – an international forum for multiple histories of architecture.

Mission Statement

The Network seeks to overcome limitations imposed by national boundaries and institutional conventions through pursuit of the following aims:

  • Increasing the visibility of the discipline among scholars and the public.
  • Promoting scholarly excellence and innovation.
  • Fostering inclusive, transnational, interdisciplinary, and multicultural approaches to the history of the built environment
  • Encouraging communication among the disciplines that study space.
  • Facilitating the open exchange of research results.
  • Providing a clearinghouse for information related to the discipline.

Main Activities


The online activities of the EAHN have been gradually transformed over the last two years, with the main website now providing the public face for the Network, supported by our social media presence on Twitter, LinkedIn and Facebook.  The  members-only areas of the website serve as an interactive hub, enabling subscribing members to register for conferences, access international news and events listings, and connect with other members through discussion forums and Interest Groups.


In 2012, the EAHN launched Architectural Histories, an open access, blind peer reviewed journal.  For more information, go to the Journal’s page.


In 2010, the first international conference was held at Guimaraes in Portugal. Now an established biennial event, the 2012 conference took place in Brussels,  the 2014 conference in Turin and, in June 2016, was hosted by Dublin. The next biennial meeting will happen in Tallinn in 2018.  In intermediate years, the EAHN co-hosts smaller thematic events in various locations: Scotland (2011), Brazil (2013) and Belgrade (2015).


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2018 EAHN Participating Members Area

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account