Society of Architectural Historians Announces 2015 SAH International Travel Grant Recipients

The Getty-funded program provides support for professionals from underrepresented countries to attend the SAH 68th Annual International Conference in Chicago
(Chicago) December 9, 2014 — The Society of Architectural Historians (SAH) is pleased to announce the twelve recipients of the 2015 SAH International Travel Grant Program, generously funded by the Getty Foundation. The grants are intended to provide funding to scholars from countries that have traditionally been underrepresented at the SAH Annual International Conference to attend the SAH 68th Annual International Conference in Chicago, April 15–19, 2015. This is the first year that SAH has received a Getty grant to support the program.
The 2015 SAH International Travel Grant Program covers conference registration, travel expenses, hotel accommodations, and a two-year SAH membership. Recipients will participate in a pre-conference orientation and present and discuss their current research with the SAH International Committee, SAH board members, and conference hosts.
The purpose of the program is to enable international academics, museum professionals and heritage conservationists to participate in the conference, help them build their international professional networks, and to diversify and internationalize SAH membership. Professionals who had not previously attended an SAH conference were encouraged to apply. The SAH International Travel Grant Program supplements the Annual Conference Fellowships for graduate students, international speakers, and independent scholars. A committee appointed by SAH President Kenneth Breisch selected the International Travel Grant recipients, and SAH looks forward to welcoming them at the Chicago Annual Conference.
Adeyemi  Akande, Fellow, Department of Architecture, University of Lagos, Nigeria
Oksana Chabanyuk, Associate Professor, Department of Architectural Environment Design, Kharkiv National University of Civil Engineering and Architecture, Ukraine
Vassilios Colonas, Professor, School of Architecture, University of Thessaly, Greece
Emre Gönlügür, Lecturer, Department of Architecture, Izmir University of Economics, Turkey
Ishraq Zahra Khan, Lecturer, Department of Architecture, North South University, Bangladesh
Cristina Lodi, Architectural Preservationist, Rio de Janeiro City Hall, Rio World Heritage Institute; Visiting Professor, PUC-Rio
Flower Manase, Senior Curator, National Museum of Tanzania, Tanzania
Raghad Mofeed, Professor, Department of Architecture, Cairo University, Egypt
Alexander Molodin, Dean, Novosibirsk State Academy of Architecture and Fine Arts, Russia
Nelly Elizabeth Ramírez Klee, Visiting Professor, Universidad Rafael Landívar, Guatemala
Ranee Maria Leonie Vedamuthu, Professor and Dean, Department of Architecture, School of Architecture and Planning, Anna University, India
Tianjie Zhang, Associate Professor, School of Architecture, Tianjin University, China
About SAH
Founded in 1940, the Society of Architectural Historians is a nonprofit membership organization that promotes the study, interpretation and conservation of architecture, design, landscapes and urbanism worldwide. SAH serves a network of local, national and international institutions and individuals who, by vocation or avocation, focus on the built environment and its role in shaping contemporary life. SAH promotes meaningful public engagement with the history of the built environment through advocacy efforts, print and online publications, and local, national and international programs. Learn more at

Share this post

News from the field

On the Traces of Misery

“Miserabilia” investigates spaces and spectres of misery in the imagination and reality of the contemporary Italian urban context. The main objective is the definition of tools for the recognition and investigation of the tangible and intangible manifestations of...